[Setup]: CloseApplications

Valid values:

force, yes, or no

Default value:

yes
Description:

If set to yes or force and Setup is not running silently, Setup will pause on the Preparing to Install wizard page if it detects applications using files that need to be updated by the [Files] or [InstallDelete] section, showing the applications and asking the user if Setup should automatically close the applications and restart them after the installation has completed.

If set to yes or force and Setup is running silently, Setup will always close and restart such applications, unless told not to via the command line.

If set to force Setup will force close when closing applications, unless told not to via the command line. Use with care since this may cause the user to lose unsaved work.

Note: Setup uses the Windows Restart Manager [external link] API to close and restart applications, which is available only on Windows Vista and newer.

See also:
CloseApplicationsFilter
RegisterExtraCloseApplicationsResources
RestartApplications